When you cancel an invoice, a new invoice is created that “cancels” the original invoice.
Filtering the invoice number in advance will help you. You will then see two invoices in the overview.
To delete a cancelled invoice, you must first delete the newly-created invoice (that is, the one that cancels the source invoice).
To do this, first of all label this invoice as “open”. Then click on “Edit document”. Now the invoice will be in draft mode and you can delete it.
The original invoice should now no longer be displayed as “cancelled invoice”.